About Sonora

  Church in Alamos, Sonora  

General information about the state of Sonora, Mexico.




The Mexican state of Sonora, officially known as the Estado Libre y Soberano de Sonora (the free and sovereign state of Sonora) is located in northwestern Mexico, south of the U.S. states of Arizona and New Mexico.

Sonora is the second largest of the 31 Mexican states in terms of land area. It is bordered by Arizona to the north (and a small border shared with New Mexico), and has a coastline with the Sea of Cortez to the west.

It shares its northwest border with the Mexican state of Baja California, its southern border with the state of Sinaloa, and its eastern border with the state of Chihuahua.

There are 72 municipalities in Sonora, political units similar to a county in the United States, and its capital is Hermosillo.

The population of Sonora from the 2010 census was 2,662,480, or about 2.4% of the total population of Mexico. Sonora has at least nine distinctive groups of indigenous peoples, including the Tohono O'odham (also known as Papago), Yaqui, Mayo, Seri, Pima, Opata, Kikapu, Guarijo and Cucapa.

The main economic sectors in Sonora are mining, livestock raising, agriculture and tourism.

sonoran dentists